Posted by: aaronsmusic | May 3, 2011

The The Dopple Ganger Chronicles ~ The First Escape

ISBN-13: 9781414319476

ISBN: 1414319479

Book synopsis from the publisher:

The First Escape is the first book in the Dopple Ganger Chronicles, a six-book series following three children—Sadie and Saskia Dopple and Erik Morrissey Ganger. Sadie and Saskia are mischievous identical twins living at an orphanage, where Erik is their only friend. They are separated when Saskia is adopted by Muzz Elliott, a wealthy woman searching for her long-lost family treasure. While Saskia stumbles into the center of a crime only she can stop, Sadie and Erik embark on a quest to find her.

This book is in an exciting new format called an “illustra-novella,” in which the story is told alternately in graphic novel format and plain text with occasional illustrations.

Our Review:

 The First Escape is a combination of  regular novel and graphic novel.  Each chapter contains both written and novel pages. While I’m not a great fan of graphic novels, I found that this style did not detract from the reading or enjoyment of the story.

We all found the artistry in this book to be amazing!  Also, while each book in this series is connected, the books easily read as stand alone stories.

I have to report that both of my boys and I LOVED this book. They have  raced on to reading the second book and are eagerly awaiting the third book in the series! 

 Each of the boys said they really liked the graphic novel parts along with the “regular” reading. They shared that the story is full of action, fun and just a bit scary. Each of them agreed that this book was a “great read!” :)

Read the first chapter here!

Many thanks to Tyndale Publishing for the opportunity to read and review this book. My review is an honest reflection of my views on this book.

Responses

  1. Hi I am so excited I found your blog, I really found you by
    error, while I was looking on Digg for something else, Anyways I am here now
    and would just like to say thank you for a remarkable post and a all round enjoyable blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to look over it all at the moment but I have bookmarked it and also added in your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read more, Please do keep up the great job.

  2. Good post. I learn something new and challenging on sites
    I stumbleupon every day. It will always
    be exciting to read content from other writers and practice
    a little something from other web sites.

  3. Page web.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

